Skip to ContentSkip to Navigation
University of Groningenfounded in 1614  -  top 100 university
EDU Support Blackboard Instructor Course Design & Organization Communication Announcements

Announcements

This page instructs users on how to create announcements. Announcements are the perfect communication tool to quickly get your students up-to-speed with course-related changes, reminders and important information. Announcements can be created, removed, reordered and edited from the Announcements page.


Creating an announcement

  1. Go to the Control Panel, select Course Tools and then Announcements.

  2. Click on Create Announcement.

  3. Enter a subject and a message.

  4. In the Web Announcement Options you can set a specific duration until or after the announcement is displayed on your course page.

  5. If you want to make sure that all course participants also receive the announcement as an email independent of their notification settings, select the Email Announcement check box.

  6. Optionally, you can link to a specific part of your course. For example, if you want to direct the students attention to a certain document. Select Browse to link to a course area, tool or item.

    1. Course links will only be visible when viewed from the course. They are not be visible in the email announcement.

  7. When you are ready, press Submit.

Want to make sure that all course participants also receive the announcement as an email while ignoring their own notification settings? Select Email Announcement under Web Announcement Options.


Reorder announcements

On the Announcements page, use the bar to reposition and prioritize your announcements. Drag the bar to reorder announcements to new positions on the page. Move priority announcements above the bar to pin them to the top of the list and prevent new announcements from superseding them.

Students see announcements in the order you choose. Students don't see the bar and can't reorder announcements.


Edit and delete announcements

To edit or delete an announcement, select Edit or Delete in its menu. The delete action is final and irreversible.

If you chose to send an email announcement and edit the announcement after you post it, another email is sent.

When another person such as your TA edits an announcement you posted, your name is replaced.

If you edit an announcement with no date restrictions, the posted date and time is changed to the current date and time after you submit. To retain the original posted date and time, select Date Restricted and the original posted date and time appears under Display After.


How to turn on/off automatic notifications

Nestor allows you to customize from who and when you receive e-mails. A teacher can also use Nestor to e-mail students. You can change these settings in the Edit Notification Settings menu. Scroll to the bottom of this section to see an example of the functionalities of Nestor you can toggle notifications for!

To access the Edit Notification Settings menu, follow these steps:

  1. In Nestor, click on your name in the top right of the page.

  2. Open the Settings menu.

  3. Click Edit Notification Settings.

The Edit Notification Settings menu is shown below. Here, you can edit the notification settings in general, for individiual courses, individual organizations or in bulk.

If you click Edit General Settings, you will enter the following menu:

If you click any of the blue links under Edit Individual Course Settings, Bulk Edit Course Settings or Edit Individual Course Settings, you will be able to toggle the notifications you receive for a wide variety of actions in Nestor. Note that the Select Course section is only visible in the bulk edit menu.

Remember to click submit at the bottom of the page to save changes!


Last modified: 7 December 04:14 PM
In need of immediate support? 050 - 363 82 82
Follow Nestorsupportfacebook twitter youtube