Teachers can use assignments to collect work from students, review and grade it, and provide it with additional feedback. Assignments could be added in a content area of a course or an organization. The submission could be downloaded per student or in bulk. Results and feedback are presented to the students in the Grade Center. You can also create group assignments, download submissions to work offline, and grade assignment submissions.
Besides a regular assignment, you can also use an Plagiarism Detection by Ouriginal.
Creating an assignment
If you want to create an assignment in your exam course, you should go to the 'Exam/Tentamen' folder. Choose Add Assignment to create your assignment.
Open the course to which the assignment must be added.
Make sure that edit mode is ON.
Navigate to the Content Area in which you want to add the assignment.
Move your mouse to the header Assessments, so that a menu unfolds. Then click on Assignment.
Fill in the field [Name and color] to give the assignment a name and a color of the title. If relevant, add an instruction to the assignment in the field [Instructions].
If required, add a file to the assignment through the button [Browse My Computer].
Fill in the field [Due Dates] to set a deadline for the assignment. Submissions are accepted after the deadline date but are marked as Late.
State in the field [Points Possible] the maximum number of points the student can obtain for this assignment. This maximum number of points indicates the scale of your grading, beginning at 0 points. A Rubric could be added to guide the grading process.
Set the Submission Details, Grading Options and Display of grades.
Submission Details: State here whether the assignment is an individual or a group assignment. If one member of a group hands in an assignment, it will be done on behalf of all the group members, i.e. all group members will receive a grade if the assignment is graded. Portfolio submission entails that a student can submit a portfolio to this assignment. The number of attempts could be set to Single Attempt, Multiple Attempts, or Unlimited Attempts and entails how often a student can hand in an assignment.
Grading Options: The first option is Anonymous Grading, which hides the student names and numbers from the assignment during grading. The second option, Delegated Grading, means that an assignment shall be graded and can be provided with feedback by multiple graders. The user with the ability to reconcile can grade the assignment eventually. An instructor has reconciling rights by default.
Display of Grades: Here, the format in which the grades will be displayed must be chosen. Furthermore, you can choose whether or not the grading calculations will be displayed in the Grade Center. Moreover, you can choose to show the grades in My Grades, a specific Content Area Item. The average and the median of the grades could be added to My Grades as well.
Set the availability for the assignment. If the checkbox Make the Assignment Available is marked, the students are able to see the assignment immediately after creating the assignment. Otherwise, it will be hidden to students until it is set available by an instructor. The assignment could also be set available and could be closed automatically using a preset time limitation. This could be done by using the Limit Availability field, in which you can set the time and date the assignment must be set available and must be closed. The checkbox Track Number of Views could be used to track the views of the students. The corresponding report could be seen using the little gray arrow next to the assignment item in the content area. This report could be found under the button View Statistics Report.
Click on Submit to create the assignment.
The settings of an assignment could be edited at any time, by clicking on the little gray arrow next to the assignment item, where a menu unfolds.
An adaptive release, i.e. a limitation to view the assignment, could be added. This limitation could be set on date, per student individually, per group or on grade criteria. The field [Review Status] means that students must first mark a checkbox at another activity/item in order to be able to see the assignment. For more information, see the Content Visibility (Adaptive Release) .
The button User Progress could be used to see the activity of the students and instructors with this assignment.
The Move button could be used to move this item to another Content Area.
|Last modified:||13 December 04:14 PM|